How to set up an android webview for debugging

This forum contains topics that were moved from Get Satisfaction
John5269257
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:04 am

How to set up an android webview for debugging

Post by John5269257 »

Hi
I have issues that only appear when running as an app, and I'd like to enable my webview for debugging.

I'm reading this:
https://developer.chrome.com/devtools...

which tells me:
"you need to enable it programmatically from within your application by calling setWebContentsDebuggingEnabled, a static method on the WebView class."

Sample code is provided:

"if(Build.VERSION.SDK_INT = Build.VERSION_CODES.KITKAT) {
WebView.setWebContentsDebuggingEnabled(true);
}"

but I've now idea where or how to include it in my Appery project source.

I have remote debugging working for Chrome on Android, so the desktop side is done, I just need to enable the webview for debugging.

I'm still on the old Appery UI, running android 4.4.4 on a nexus 7

Appreciate any help
John

Maryna Brodina
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 7:27 am

How to set up an android webview for debugging

Post by Maryna Brodina »

Hello!

You would need to add the following plugin https://build.phonegap.com/plugins/477

Miguel Navarro7469744
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:55 pm

How to set up an android webview for debugging

Post by Miguel Navarro7469744 »

I need to do this what are the exact steps to load this plugin with appery.io?

Evgene Karachevtsev
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 1:12 pm

How to set up an android webview for debugging

Post by Evgene Karachevtsev »

Hello Miguel,

Unfortunately we don't have ready solution for this and the plugins are outside the scope of our support, but I hope this link will help you:
https://devcenter.appery.io/documenta...

Miguel Navarro7469744
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:55 pm

How to set up an android webview for debugging

Post by Miguel Navarro7469744 »

Would I be better off trying to get weinre debugging working or using the plugin to test android in chrome. I have an issue where the app seems to crash/timeout in android 5.0.2. It seems like there's some new functionality in it too that's appearing in my app like a transparent circle with three dots in it.

Yurii Orishchuk
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 8:20 am

How to set up an android webview for debugging

Post by Yurii Orishchuk »

Hi Miguel,

Weinre debugger should work on android and ios.

And you don't need to install any plugin for this functionality.

Please learn more about how to use WEINRE in Appery.io app here:
https://devcenter.appery.io/documenta...

Regards.

Post Reply