Jay6395558
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:17 pm

Multiple Android Issues

1) I used a different QR Reader and was able to install the app. The new splash images were showing so that's good but they are still stretching incorrectly. I used this tutorial to create the patch 9 images. codehttp://fsiete.blogspot.com/2013/10/android-9-patch-splash-screens-that-do.html/code Can you tell me what I am doing wrong that doesn't allow my logo to maintain it's aspect ratio?

2) Please read the original post to this thread. I have a button on the "contact us" page of the app that, when clicked, should activate the phone to call the phone number associated with the button. However, since most Android tablets do not have a phone capability the entire app is not available in the Google Play store for tablets. I need this call (telephony) feature to be available for phones but turned off for tablets so customers can download the app for tablets.

Evgene Karachevtsev
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 1:12 pm

Multiple Android Issues

Jey,

Splash files should have ".9.png" file name(look at attachment)
http://developer.android.com/tools/he... Image

Jay6395558
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:17 pm

Multiple Android Issues

Thank you. This issue is now resolved. Now if I can get an answer to my phone issue then I will be in good shape.

Evgene Karachevtsev
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 1:12 pm

Multiple Android Issues

Hello Jay,

Could you please try to define device (phone or tab) with kendo: http://docs.telerik.com/kendo-ui/howt...

Jay6395558
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:17 pm

Multiple Android Issues

I still haven't received any solutions from you regarding the ability to have a telephony feature on the app without the app being excluded from tablets because they don't have a calling ability. I recently read in a blog post the following... Will this work if I add it to the Android manifest?

Where your app uses a particular hardware feature, but you know (and have tested) that it will still work without it, you can specify it as optional by setting the required attribute to false.

code<uses-feature android:name="android&#46;hardware&#46;telephony" android:required="false" />/code
Ensure your application manifest correctly identifies what hardware your app needs, and what is optional
With the uses-feature name strings now available, you can ensure right now that your app appears in the Market, where appropriate, on current and future hardware devices rather than waiting for the devices to be released.

It's in your interest as a developer to ensure your apps work well, and are available, on as many devices as possible and appropriate. Now is the time to test your applications and update your Manifest to opt in to all hardware configurations which you support, and opt out of those that don’t make sense.

Evgene Karachevtsev
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 1:12 pm

Multiple Android Issues

Hello Jay,

Sorry for late reply. Yes, this should help, try it.

Jay6395558
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:17 pm

Multiple Android Issues

Can I put it anywhere in the manifest? Also, anytime I edit the manifest I don't seem to be able to build the .apk. Is this gong to cause a problem with the build?

Kateryna Grynko
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:13 am

Multiple Android Issues

Hi Jay,

You should add it directly in 'manifest' tag:
http://developer.android.com/guide/to...

Jay6395558
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:17 pm

Multiple Android Issues

I meant... can it be anywhere inside the manifest tag or does it have to be before or after a certain line inside the manifest tag?

Kateryna Grynko
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:13 am

Multiple Android Issues

Hi Jay,

Anywhere. Just make sure it is not inside any other tag. For example, you could place it in the end, before code</manifest>/code

Return to “Issues”